EU-EAA citizens

Since 1 January 2007 the Republic of Bulgaria has been applying the European Union’s Common Visa Policy, subject to the terms of the Accession Treaty. There are no visa requirements for EU citizens or Australian, Canadian and USA nationals to visit Bulgaria for a period of up to 90 days, although a passport valid for at least three months beyond the planned length of stay is needed for travel purposes. A visa is not required for non-EU citizens who have a residency card issued by an EU member state.

EU nationals can reside in Bulgaria for a long term (up to 5 years), or indefinitely. Applications for a Long Stay Residency Certificate must be made within 90 days of arrival in Bulgaria at the National Migration Directorate. The criteria are that you: are employed or self-employed in Bulgaria, have sufficient funds to cover your own expenses and those of your family members, without using the social-benefits system, have enrolled on a course of education with sufficient funds to cover the expenses of your stay in the country.

Long Stay Certificates can be renewed as required – or, after five years, you may apply for Bulgarian Citizenship

Did you help this article?
  1. 5
  2. 4
  3. 3
  4. 2
  5. 1
0/5 - 0 the voices


   Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *